The University of Canberra Women’s Rugby Sevens (UC 7s) have selected 12 players to kick off the Aon University Sevens Series in Queensland this weekend, 14-15 September.


The team features prominent Wallaroos players Sharni Williams and Yasmin Meakes which will play a big part in helping the team kick-off the Series as a strong competitive side.


Three Brumbies Super W players Rachel Crothers, Claudia Obst and Darcy Read will bring experience to the team while six players will be making their Series debut.


The team will be led by Skye Churchill who was announced as Captain this week.


Head Coach Liam McGrath said that this team is made up of a unique mix of athletes which, as a whole, has a lot of potential.


“It’s a young team but, it’s a young team with a lot of talent and experience. There’s four women pushing for junior national team selection, two who competed in the Dream Big Time camp a few weeks back, a group who’ve played Super W together, and then when you throw the national team athletes into the mix it makes for a really experienced side.”


Team List:

  1. Rachel Crothers
  2. Skye Churchill (C)
  3. Sharni Williams
  4. Lily Murdoch
  5. Yasmin Meakes
  6. Lillyann Mason-Spice
  7. Aroha Spillane
  8. Ainsley Scrivener
  9. Ella Ryan
  10. Claudia Obst
  11. Alahna Ryan
  12. Darcy Read